Sidebar

To stay in Moldova and not to visit one of its monasteries means not to admire the marvelous architecture and its originality. The modern touristic routes usually run across the most prominent and renowned cloisters. Besides of the oldest monasteries such as Capriana, Hincu, Noul Neamt, Curchi, Moldova is famous by its unique cave monasteries hided deep in the wood or on the banks of the picturesque rivers. Their doors are always opened for visitors, pilgrims and tourists.

It is situated in Bessarabia, in Chitcani village, on the right shore of Nistru River, 14 km from the town of Tighina (Bender) and 6 km from the town of Tiraspol. There are four churches on the territory of the monastery. The Ascension Cathedral is situated in the center. On its left there is the old church built in honor of Saint Hierarch Nicholas the Wonder-Worker. Opposite there is a refectory church of the Ascension of the Holy Cross. The Dormition church is a congruous part with its five chapels completing the general view of the monastery. The center piece of the monastery is the bell tower. Consisting of 5 levels, it is seventy meters tall and is the highest and the most splendid bell tower in Moldova. From the upper level of the bell tower you can see the wonderful picturesque views of the surroundings.

It is located on coast of a small river with the same name, at the lap of a hill with century oaks, near Calarasi region. Hirjauca Monastery is one of four “Calarasi Cross” monasteries, along with Frumoasa, Hirbovets and Raciula. The monasteries are situated so that the shape of a cross is formed.

The architecture of the monastery is very interesting and original, to the gate goes an alley of pyramidal poplars and the monastery is arranged in the form of horseshoe. According to researcher P. Crusevan, the monastery was funded in 1740.

It was raised up on a nuns’ hermitage in 1678. Mihail Hancu built it in honor of one of his daughters who accepted monasticism under the name of Parascheva. The hermitage had the name of Viadica until the 17th century. Hancu was the first monastic settlement of Basarabia where the community life was introduced approximately in 1820-1822.

At the end of the 19th century the monastery was known under the name of Hancul-Parascheva. The lands, the fortune and the buildings of the monastery were nationalized in 1944, but in 1965 the monastery had been closed and the monks were chased away.

In 1978 the monastic ensemble was distributed to the Institute of Medicine from Chisinau that set working as a sanatorium for people suffering from tuberculosis. Hancu Monastery was re-established as a place for monks in 1990. On the 10th of September, 1992, the reconstruction of the monastery was started. In 1993 the reparation of Holy Virgin Dormition winter church had been finished. Saint Pious Parascheva summer church was erected in 1835 and repaired not earlier than 1996. Today the monastery is a home for a vibrant community of nuns.

It is one of the oldest monasteries in Moldova. It is situated about 40 km north – west of Chisinau at the Isnovat locality. The first official document which contains data about Capriana Monastery is the Alexander the Kind royal charters dating from April 25, 1420. Initially the monastery was named after Vasnavet river; later it was renamed into Capriana, thus honoring the name Chiprian who was the first Superior of the monastery. Because of the economical decline and cultural stagnation the Capriana Monastery experimented a difficult period in the XVIIth century.

Only after 1813 thanks to metropolitan bishop Gavriil Banulescu-Bodoni a revigoration of monastic life was registered. On June 29, 1940, a day after the conquest of Basarabia by Soviet troupes, the whole estate of the monastery was confiscated. The Soviet State declared the Capriana Monastery an architectural monument governmentally protected, but at the same times the monastery begun to be foraged and crashed.

 It is located on the bunch of the Nistru River, at the distance of 15 km from Otaci town. It is a friary. In 1777, with the blessing of bishop Inochentie from Husi a Moldovan style stone temple celebrating Holy Trinity festival was funded. It was built on the estate of brothers Andronachi and Teodor Rudea with the financial support of the noble man Donciu from Mavilau (Podolia).

In 1846, local authorities took the decision to close Rudi Monastery temple; it was taken under the guidance of Rudi village parish. Mihai Rosea - a near relation to Bogus became the monastery proprietary, he transformed the holy place into an inhabitancy for servants. The monastic complex was abandoned and partially demolished.

It is one of the most important architectural monuments of Bessarabia, and it is also considered to be one of the most beautiful and famous monasteries of the region. It is located in Orhei forest near Curchi village, approximately 14 km southwest of the town of Orhei. The monastery is situated in the Vatici valley on a bank of the Vatic River between rich hills covered with forests, gardens and orchards. The monastery is a real gem, offering silence and peace.

The monastery has a rich religious and cultural past spanning more than two centuries. It was founded in 1773-1775 and became one of the richest, most beautiful, and largest monasteries in Moldova.

Situated near the locality with the same name, Tipova Monastery is one of the oldest monasteries in the Republic of Moldova. The monastery is spaded in stone on the bunch of Nistru River. The monastic complex portrays an image of an impressive museum.  The monastery comprises three monastic complexes. First complex comprises temple with Holy Cross festival and some cells; it is situated at a great distance and it is hardly accessible. The foundation of the complex dates from XI – XV centuries.

It is situated in 8 km from Rezina town and 120 km from Chisinau city. The monastic complex is a natural reservation; it encompasses 670 ha and is under the government protection.

Initially the monastic complex embodied a small hermitage – Horodiste and a small temple spaded in rock stone celebrating the Annunciation festival. In 1776, monk Vortolomeu Crungul along with other monks came from Russia and settled the complex. They repaired the temple and its cells. In 1863, at the times of abbot Serafim another temple for winter orations and a series of cells were built. It celebrates Holy Virgin Mother of God Bearing festival.

The museum complex Old Orhei is a system of historical monuments and natural landscapes. It consists of a few promontories. The central promontory in Old Orhei is called Pestere.

The Butuceni promontory is great from both the geological and esthetic points. It has many calcareous slates, spacious caves and small grottos. The wonderful view and ancient traces are impressive. There is an unique monastery inside of a rock over the Reut river. The monastery was discovered in 1821, when the residents of Butuceni settlement cut a 20-metre corridor in the rock and found themselves inside a church. The walls of the monastery are always cool even when it is hot outside.  Nowadays the Butuceni hermitage makes a part of one national park and historical complex Old Orhei.

It is situated on the shore of Nistru River at the distance of 10 km from Camenca town. It is the only monastery from Bessarabia that was never closed by the Soviet authorities. This monastery has a rare location due to the beauty of the horizon that gladdens tourists’ eyes. The rocks above the monastery, but especially above the old hermitage, the Nistru windings, which can be seen from far away, the gardens that surrounds it makes up the special beauty of the monastery. The Japca locality dates back to the 17th century. According to the majority of the records, the estate and the hermitage are named Japca, some named Jabca or even Sabca. In 1818 Japca hermitage got the statute of monastery. In 1940 the nuns and sisters had been chased away from the monastery, the authorities from Japca locality with the Soviets permission, confiscated all the fortune of the saint place. In 1941 with the arrival of the Romanian army, the nuns came back to the monastery and got back all the goods.